

Delaware County Bureau of Elections Government Center Building 201 West Front Street, Media, PA 19063 DelcoElection@co.delaware.pa.us



Delaware County Drawing of Lots – June 2, 2023

Two contests at the May 16, 2023 Primary Election in Delaware County resulted in two-way ties, which then required drawings of lots to determine fall ballot positions. Based on the rules of the drawings, whichever candidate would draw the lower number would win the tie.

The Pennsylvania Election Code requires such drawings of lots occur at noon on the third Friday following the election. The drawings were conducted promptly at noon on Fri., June 2, 2023 in the County Council Conference Room on the second floor of the County Government Center in Media.

The drawings were performed and supervised by Bureau of Elections balloting specialist Shantel James and Elections Director James P. Allen. All of the candidates affected by the two ties were notified of the drawing.

The first drawing involved candidates Edna Stockley and Rudolph Taylor, who finished with a tied number of votes in the Democratic Primary for Darby Borough Council 2nd Ward.

Candidate Stockley drew the number 1, and candidate Taylor drew the number 4, meaning that candidate Stockley will advance as a Democratic candidate on the November ballots in the contest for Darby Borough Council 2nd Ward after the name of Janice Davis, who received the most votes in that "Vote For Two" contest. No candidate appeared on the Republican ballots for this office, and no write-in candidate received enough votes to secure the nomination.

The second drawing involved candidates Jeanne L. Montgomery and Natalie Young, who finished in a tie for the top of positions to represent the Democratic Party for Borough Council in Chester Heights. This drawing was to determine fall ballot position. Candidate Montgomery drew the number 2. On behalf of Natalie Young, who was not in attendance, Bureau staff member Shantel James then drew the number 3. Candidates Montgomery and Young will be listed in that order on the November ballots, followed by third winner in the primary, Timothy Hudak, followed by Republican primary winners Robert Sacks, Laura Lim, and Brendan Nerney.